Somewhere Amazing

A WordPress.com site for celebrating the amazing!

Rain

6 Comments

Rain washing through me.

 

I just love rain.

I don’t know why.

When it rains, even rains hard and others rush to cover, to shelter, I love being in the rain.

Yes I’ll wear a hood, or use an umbrella although if its a lighter rain shower I’ll let the water wash over my face and somehow imagine God is washing all my cares away.

I just love the rain.

There’s something about it.

When I’m standing there and the rain is falling on me and pouring through me, giving me a new sensory experience and taking my mind to places where my cares and woes and worries are, for a moment anyway, washed away, it feels great.

Its my somewhere amazing.

Thanks for reading.

Somewhere Amazing

 

Author: Through Another Lens

Christian man from Glasgow, Scotland. On the autistic spectrum. Find me in my posts...

6 thoughts on “Rain

  1. Today I rescued my cat from a hail storm, first time I’ve been out in the rain in weeks.
    It was refreshing and invigorating. Even with a squeaking cat under my arm.

  2. You are a girl after my own heart… I too love the rain…
    Apparently, water (especially moving water) releases negative ions, which have a positive effect upon us…
    Here’s a little understanding:
    The atmosphere we breathe normally is full of positive and negative ions. Air conditioning, lack of ventilation, and long dry spells remove negative ions, which usually serve to latch onto airborne dirt particles and wrestle them to the floor, rendering the air purer. Roughly one-third of the population seems to be particularly sensitive to negative-ion depletion. The proportion of negative ions is highest around moving water (storms, oceans, rivers, waterfalls)—It’s no wonder that we feel so energized at the beach. The best ratios of negative to positive ions are associated with waterfalls and the time before, during, and after storms. The worst are found in windowless rooms and closed, moving vehicles. Air purifiers typically work by emitting negative ions, which purify room air by attaching to impurities and sinking them.
    🙂

    • Thanks for your comment which contains things I certainly didn’t know. While I’m sure I would enjoy being a girl after your own heart I’m afraid I’ll never be that as I’m a guy lol. The second part of the ‘About’ section of this blog says as much and if you hover your screen cursor over the little photo of me somewhere down the left hand side of the page, it says the same. I’m wondering if the picture at the top of the screen of the girl with the blue eye made you think that was me? Sadly not, I just found and loved the picture so used it! Anyway, still glad of the comment, which explains why I frequently feel good in the rain 🙂

      • Oh, my apologies…. and yes, it was a slip due to the lovely pic above…. I was deep in thought regarding the negative ions…
        I have been sitting here at my computer contemplating buying a little indoor water feature, and browsing the net for same… There are some lovely ones for sale. I also love the sound of water falling, so I think I’ll investigate further….
        Once again, my apologies, you are indeed a male..! 🙂

Deep breath, fingers poised, off you go ...!

