Somewhere Amazing

A WordPress.com site for celebrating the amazing!

Songs that got me through the night

Leave a comment

I went through a long dark night of the soul, lasting years.

Many songs helped during that time, these are just a few.

There is no rhyme or reason to the choices, they just worked for me.

Belinda Carlisle – Runaway Horses

Eurythmics – Miracle of Love, When Tomorrow Comes, I Saved the World Today

Johnny Cash – Bridge Over Troubled Water, The Man Comes Around, I’m Free From The Chain Gang Now

Mozart or Beethoven – can’t recall name of piece sadly.

Aha – Dark is the Night

The Upper Room – Black and White, All Over This Town

Stornoway – Zorbing

Rosanne Cash – Beautiful Pain, Black Cadillac

R.E.M. – What’s the Frequency Kenneth, Bad Day, Day Sleeper

Stereophonics – Hurry Up and Wait

Gabriella Cilmi – Sweet About Me

Geneva – Into the Blue

Audioslave – Show Me How To Live, Be Yourself

Bruce Springsteen – All Or Nothing At All, Better Days

U2 – Magnificent, New Year’s Day

Meat Loaf – Razor’s Edge, Midnight at the Lost and Found

Ash – Shining Light

Prefab Sprout – Ride, God Watch Over You

McIntosh/Ross – All My Trust I Place In You, Jesus Nailed My Sins Upon The Tree

Dolly Parton – Hello God

Jason Mraz – Life Is Wonderful

Black – Wonderful Life

Madonna – Like A Prayer

Bob Dylan – Shelter From The Storm

Neil Diamond – Pretty Amazing Grace, Man of God

Beth Nielsen Chapman – Panis Angelicus

Amy MacDonald – Mr Rock & Roll

Ryan Adams – So Alive

Joe Satriani – Always With Me, Always With You, I Believe

Puccini – Humming Chorus

 

As I say, no rhyme or reason that I knew of at the time, they just helped in their own ways.

Sometimes not even the whole song, sometimes just a few notes, a few words, sometimes just even a single note.

Thanks for reading.

Somewhere Amazing

 

 

 

Author: Through Another Lens

Christian man from Glasgow, Scotland. On the autistic spectrum. Find me in my posts...

Deep breath, fingers poised, off you go ...!

