Somewhere Amazing

A WordPress.com site for celebrating the amazing!

Happiness Engineers

Leave a comment

Happiness Engineers!

 

I was looking through the options for deleting a blog and the relevant WordPress page listed several options, from simply changing a URL address to removing the current content from a blog so you can start it again afresh.

When I tried the latter option an instruction appeared which said that a WordPress ‘Happiness Engineer’ would help me through the process if I wanted, or words to that effect.

I couldn’t help thinking, “What a wonderful title and job!” 

Imagine in life, if you were really struggling with something, having a tough time, found your confidence dented, not knowing how to cope with any given situation, that you could simply pick up the phone, press a relevant speed dial button, send an email (HappinessEngineer@Happy.com?), send a text message, and be put straight through to  your own personal Happiness Engineer! 

Of course, we may already have Happiness Engineers in various guises…friends, family, chocolate, coffee, music, books, faith, meditation, our kids (if you have them of course and sometimes even when they’re being annoying), a calming view, painting, a console game, memories, it can be all sorts of things. 

Then I wondered if I, or any of us, saw an advert in a newspaper or job centre for a ‘Happiness Engineer’ and the requirement, “Must have the ability to make people happy…even if you can’t solve the problem”, how many of us would apply and how would the interviewer decide if we were the right person for the job? Presumably we’d want to end the interview having made them feel happy 🙂

The worrying thing for me is that when my mind first received the idea of a Happiness Engineer, it immediately presented me with the image of an Oompa Loompa.

Oh dear…

Thanks for reading.

Somewhere Amazing

ps. my young niece loves all things Willy Wonka, so maybe that explains it. 

Author: Through Another Lens

Christian man from Glasgow, Scotland. On the autistic spectrum. Find me in my posts...

Deep breath, fingers poised, off you go ...!

